About the Mayor's Youth Advisory Board

Adopt a Road cleanup project

About the Board

Now accepting applications for the 2016 - 17 academic year - deadline to apply Monday, April 4, 2016

The Mayor’s Youth Advisory Board (MYAB) was established in 2000 to provide a voice for youth in our community. This ad–hoc committee consists of 20 members from Beaverton area high schools. MYAB members are students at Aloha, Arts and Communication, Beaverton, Catlin Gabel, Jesuit, School of Science and Technology, Southridge, Sunset, Valley Catholic and Westview high schools. Students are selected by the Mayor to serve on the Board for a two-year term through an open application process.

MYAB reports to the Mayor and City Council on issues of concern to youth. MYAB’s mission is to serve the common good of the community and provide a voice for youth in decisions and policies of the city. MYAB focuses on community service projects, promoting youth activism.


MYAB has five elected officers:
  • Corey Atwood - Co-Chair
  • Anirudh Jain - Co-Chair
  • Ananth Agarwal - Vice Chair
  • Rama Somayajula - Secretary
  • Krista Jansen - Social Media Officer
  • William Deatherage - Civic Affairs Officer
MYAB 2015 Senior Prom
MYAB with Mayor Doyle in Washington DC 2015 Beaverton Youth Summit